The Old City of A Coruña
The Old City (Cidade Vella in Galician) is the name given to the
old town of A Coruña.
During the ninth and tenth centuries, the inhabitants of the island, then called
Lighthouse, (peninsula where now stands the Tower of
Hercules) were leaving the area due to constant
Viking fleet attacks and settled in the area of Betanzos.
In 1208 King Alfonso IX founded his city in the current
Old Town location, rebuilding the city, which became
directly under the king, free from allegiance to the clergy or
In the fourteenth century the walls that protected the Old City were built,
of which remnants still remain, and three doors
that opened the city to the sea: the Parrote, the Nail and San
Miguel. Also preserved is the stronghold known as Old Fort,
which now has become the Garden of San Carlos.
The Old City of A Coruña preserved streets and squares that revive
the history of the city and noble mansions and residences as
the marriage and the poet Manuel Murguia Rosalia de Castro,
located on Prince Street.