Plaza Alta of Badajoz
The Plaza Alta (High Square, in english) of Badajoz occupies part of what was once the Muslim Souk and communicated with the citadel through the Arch del Peso. The origin of the Plaza is due to the buildings that began to be built from the fourteenth century. In 1458, the council gave permission to build arcades that held markets and public entertainment, and later converted into what became the hub of life in Badajoz.
The Plaza Alta has a rectangular shape. At one end lies the former town hall, built in 1548. Under certain facades there are still vestiges of large horseshoe arches believed to correspond to the old merchant house and other buildings medieval times. On the opposite side is the Arch of Toril, so called because it was where the bulls were let out when the running of the bulls were held in the Plaza. This area is characterized by its decoration graffito painted which is due to a renovation in the seventeenth century.