The Burgos Museum
The Burgos Museum, formerly known as the Provincial Archaeological Museum,
is located in two adjoining houses dating from 1545: Casa Miranda
and the House of Iñigo Angulo.
Burgos Museum was founded in 1846 with the aim of collecting,
and catologing aritistic assests found in the
churches, convents and monasteries in the province. These collections
initials were almost exclusively of Fine Arts.
Around the second and third parts of the twentieth century, thanks to
conducted in several sites in the province, archerological
collections increased dramatically and the new museum
was made in 1955 in the Casa Miranda.
Burgos Museum, divided into several rooms, displays objects from
Atapuerca Palaeolithic, Neolithic objects found in
Guareña Eye caves, objects from the Bronze Age
necropolis of the province and objects of the Iron Age. You can also
find objects from the main Roman city in the area, Clunia.
Clunia objects are the main Roman city in the area.
The Fine Arts Library is located at the House of Inigo Angulo
and displays works from the Mozarabic art to the present.
Opening hours of the Burgos Museum:
Ticket price of the Burgos Museum: