The Veleta Palace and Museum of Caceres
The collections of the Museum of Caceres are divided into two buildings
interconnected through a gateway, Casa de los Caballos
and the Palacio de las Veletas.
In the House of Horses, the collection of Fine Arts
with works from the Prado Museum, the Bishop of Coria-Cáceres and
Diputación Provincial are on display. It also has a temporary exhibition hall.
La Casa de los Caballos which date back to the XVI century and served as
stables of the Palace of the vanes.
In the Palacio de las Veletas, collections of Ethnography
and Archaeology are displayed, ranging from prehistory to the time of the
Visigoth. But undoubtedly the most remarkable is the Hispano-Arabic well
partly excavated in the natural rock. It is 15 . long by 10m
wide, has 16 horseshoe arches supported by 12 columns, some of
those of Roman origin.
The Palacio de las Veletas was built in 1477 by Diego Gomez
Torres on the site previously occupied Arab fortress, although
the current building is due to Lorenzo de Ulloa, who modified
completely in 1600. On its front page highlights the shields of the
Torres and Ulloa.
Opening hours of the Museum of Cáceres:
Ticket price of the Museum of Cáceres: