Carmen of the Martyrs of Granada
Carmen is the name given to the typical houses of Granada. The Carmen of the Martyrs (Carmen de los Mártires, in Spanish) is the largest in Granada made up of a mansion, gardens and orchards.
Legend has it that the Carmen of the Martyrs was built on top of old dungeons used to torture Christians during Nazari times. When the city was conquered by the Catholic Monarchs the Chapel of the Holy Martyrs was founded on the site. From 1573 it served as a Carmelite nunnery where St. John of the Cross served as Prior for six years.
After the Mendizabal Confistation in 1835, the monks are expelled from the monastery and the place is closed and abandoned.
In 1845, the Carmen was passed into private hands and the convent and the shrine were demolished, and the construction of current palace and gardens was started. These have lasted until today as they were then conceived as a garden of many gardens. Thus the visitor could enjoy a French garden an English one, a landscaped garden and a Spanish garden. In the sixties the Spanish garden was destroyed and the rest were modified.
Later, the property was bought by a millionaire art collector who carried out many reforms, turning it into a palatial two-story Renaissance building, with attic and basement. It is decorated with ironwork, plasterwork, paneling and some original Arab marble columns.
Official Opening Hours Carmen of the Marthyrs:
Ticket Price Carmen of the Martyrs of Granada:
All times and ticket prices are approximate. To confirm times and fares see the official sites.